Kuniyoshi: Coming and Going (kayoi)

Kuniyoshi: Coming and Going (kayoi) (Sold)

  • Sold.

Artist: Utagawa Kuniyoshi
Title: Coming and Going (kayoi)
Series: Modern Seven Komachi (imayô nanakomachi) The seven episodes are: Kiyomizu Komachi, Amekoi Komachi, Ômu Komachi, Zôshiarai Komachi, Kayoi Komachi, Sotoba Komachi, and Sekimachi Komachi.
Date: 1849-51

The title of the series comes from the seven episodes of women written by Ono no Komachi in the Heian Period. However this title is often used for a set of seven pictures. Here a man seems to have just gotten out of a palanquin and is waiting for a ferry to cross the Sumida river to visit the pleasure quarters. He seems pleasantly relaxed, his towel blowing in the breeze.

He must be a frequent visitor who appears in a Kabuki play.

Dimensions: ôban
Publisher: Ise Yoshi
Seal: censors’ seals: Fukushima Giemon & Muramatsu Genroku
Signature: Ichiyûsai Kuniyoshi ga with his square seal of a paulownia